Life:   What Do I Want For Mother’s Day

This is a tricky one….  I teeter between wanting time to myself and wanting to spend as much time with my kids and husband as possible – so long as no one is fighting and everyone is getting along.  Honestly though, what do I want for Mother’s Day cannot be summed up in just one or two words.

Sure, there are the conventional Mother’s Day gifts – chocolates, dinner out, flowers, and a card.  Those are all lovely gifts, but none of which I want.  Ok, I might take you up on the meal out but not on Mother’s Day.  I’ll take a rain check thank you very much.

What I do want – gosh, even after starting this blog a couple of hours ago and just revisiting it now, I am still stumped.   I asked my husband a couple of years ago for a Mother’s Ring with all three of my babies’ birthstones, he got me a necklace.   I love the necklace, but would still like the ring.   As luck would have it, all three of my boys were born in blue-stone months – one in September and two in December.  And yes, for those of you who know me, you may be wondering about the third child reference.   I have always considered Jalopy (our family dog) one of my children.  Jalopy passed away this past November, but he is still very much part of our family.

I would LOVE to be able to put the finishing touches on our living room project that was started in February 2015.    The room needs touch-ups, pictures hung on the wall, and the carpet shampooed (again – ongoing I fear).  What’s holding us back is simply time.  Time to complete the projects, plus I don’t have all the artwork that I am wanting.

I would also like to hire a painter to paint our front entryway, the wall leading upstairs, and our upstairs landing.   With the high ceilings we have, it’s simply not safe for a non-professional.  The pee yellow color needs to go!  It’s been a thorn in my side since we moved in.

And while we are on the home improvement projects tangent – why not throw the raised bed garden renovation into the mix?!  This will be a major undertaking.  My husband and I are no strangers to hard labor and I love digging in the dirt, but even this may be more than we can handle.   And since we will already be outside, let’s get some wood chips and spread them among the flower beds.   A day in the dirt would be a fantastic day to me!

Reeling it back in for a moment, I would love if my husband would look around our house at the half-completed projects and start knocking those out individually — THAT is what I want for Mother’s Day.  To finally get something accomplished – start to finish.   Oh, and if my kids could not fight for an entire day, that would be an added bonus!

What do you want for Mother’s Day?  Comment below!

Leave a Reply

