Life: Backyard Camping Trip

How I spent my summer vacation in 1990 – three words:  Front Yard Camping.

Why not backyard?  My parents felt safer with me sleeping outside in the front yard versus the backyard and yes, I slept outside nearly every night during the summer of 1990 along with my dog.  Unbeknownst to me for many years, my Mom slept on the couch on those nights.  Bless her heart.

In my June Bucket List blog, I mentioned Backyard Camping as something to do with your kiddos and something I plan to do with mine this year.   I have been waiting for them to be just a bit older and a whole lot out of the diaper phase of life.  Both have been asking me to take them camping, but I do not think we are quite ready for a big commitment of camping away from home just yet.

So – here we are gearing up for a fun season of backyard camping – tent pitched, fire pit and fire wood ready, sticks and large marshmallows nearby, and nearest pizza delivery location on speed dial just in case hobo dinner (see recipe below) is not a hit.

There are quite a few activities you can do with your children, here are a few of my favorites:

  • Catch fireflies
  • Explore your backyard after dark (with flashlights)
  • Roast marshmallows
  • Gaze at the stars above
  • Sing songs around the camp fire

And if ordering a pizza doesn’t quite give you the campy feel, how’s about a good ole serving of Food.com’s Campfire Hobo Dinner?

Ingredients:

  • 1lb meat (we like to use ground beef)
  • 1 cup potato, sliced* 
  • 1 cup carrot, sliced*
  • 1cup onion, sliced*
  • 4 teaspoons butter
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • pepper
  • cooking spray
  • aluminum foil

*NOTE: You could use any combination of vegetables you like.

Directions:

Spray an 18-inch square pieces of aluminum foil with cooking spray.  Place 1/4 of the meat in the center of the foil.  Place 1/4 of the vegetables on top of the meat. Season with butter, salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Fold top and sides of foil to create a packet. Place on hot coals with seam side up.  Allow to cook for 25-30 minutes or until meat is cooked through.

Whatever you decide, make the backyard camping experience with your kids your own unique adventure.   There are so many different ideas online with activities, games, and recipes to try; above is just my take on it.

download (3)

 

Leave a Reply

