EAT: Roasted Zucchini & Squash with Parmesan

So – the zucchini and summer squash were calling out to me – “pick me, buy me” they shouted as I walked past them.  “You know you want to try something new” they whispered to me.  I caved and bought one of each.  Now, it’s not that I have never had zucchini or squash before, in fact, I often will order the side of “summer vegetables” when I am dining out.  It’s just that the last recipe I made with them, I was pregnant, and let’s just say, it didn’t agree with me.   Four and a half years later, I still remember that day, but decided it was time to try again, and it was AH-MAZING!

Normally when I try a new recipe, I follow each and every detail with the exception of items that are listed as optional, but this time I went rogue.   So out of my element to not follow directions.  I am not sure who that woman was in the kitchen last night, but it wasn’t me!

This recipe is SO TASTY and SO EASY that it will be made again, and again, and again…

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 medium summer squash
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 2/3 cups extra virgin olive oil (more if your vegetables are on the larger size)
  • 1 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • Pinch of Penzey’s Lemon Peel*
  • Pinch of Penzey’s Sunny Spain Seasoning*
  • Salt and pepper to taste

 

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat over to 425-degrees.  Line a large pan with foil.  Slice squash and zucchini into 1″ rounds and then quarter.  Place squash and zucchini into a large mixing bowl and cover with olive oil.   Add Parmesan cheese.   With a large slotted spoon, mix vegetables and cheese.

Spoon mixture onto lined pan making sure that it’s a single layer.   Sprinkle garlic cloves over mixture and then season with Lemon Peel, Sunny Spain Seasoning, salt and pepper to taste.

Bake for 12-minutes.**   Voila!

*Don’t have Lemon Peel and Sunny Seasoning?  Try a different combination of seasonings you do have on hand.

**At 12 minutes, vegetable will be slightly al dente.  If you like your vegetables to be cooked through more, add 1 or 2 more minutes.

 

NOTE:  Did you try this recipe?  Did you like it?  We’d love to hear from you!  

Leave a Reply

