EAT:  Parmesan & Sea Salt Kale Chips 

I.have.cravings.  Some people crave chocolate, I crave salt.  Some like sweets, I like savory.  Unfortunately, my waist line and potato chips don’t exactly mix.  And this climb toward 40 isn’t helping either, but nevertheless I knew I need to find something to satisfy this urge to munch.

Hello Horrocks!  If you are in the local Lansing-ish area and haven’t been, strap on your comfy sandals and go, in fact, run!  I can never leave this store with less than 10 items even if just going for one!  Horrocks is like a huge indoor farm market if indoor farm markets also carried an awesome selection of beers, wines, cheese, fresh roasted coffee, and all the pantry staples you can think of!  Did I mention the abundance of fruits and vegetables, many of which I have never knew existed?

I digress, while on said trip to Horrocks, I happened upon some kale and a light went off — kale chips!  That’s the answer!  I’ll make Kale chips.  Ok, so I have never eaten Kale chips before let alone make them so this could have been a disaster, but it wasn’t.

Once home, I washed and patted dry the kale.   And then I thought about how I was going to bake them and what I was going to season them with, and this is what I came up with:

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of kale, ripped into bite-size pieces, discard stem
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Parmesan Cheese, grated
  • Sea Salt

 

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350-degrees.   In a large mixing bowl, combine kale, a splash of EVOO to taste (you want it to coat the kale, but not saturate it), sprinkle Parmesan cheese to your liking and add a dash of salt.   Mix until all the kale has a nice coating.
  • Place pieces of kale individually on a rimmed baking sheet that has been coated with a non-stick spray so that they are in a single layer and not touching one another.
  • Bake for 7 minutes or until the kale has darkened in color and appears to be crispy. Let cool and consume right away.

 

DELICIOUS!  Play around with the seasonings and let me know what combination you come up with.

img_2035

 

###

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

